Skip to content

The 7 Army Values and Me. 1/7: Loyalty.

March 20, 2013

To me, the seven core Army values are not just a few catchy words, they are much more than that. They define what the ideal U.S. soldier is supposed to be, and how he/she is supposed to carry out his/her duty as a U.S. Army Officer.  As a future U.S. Army Officer, the seven core Army values would act as a path to follow throughout my Army career, on and off the job. For each of the seven values, I would like to define what it means, and how it relates to me. The Army values consist of Loyalty, Duty, Respect, Selfless Service, Honor, Integrity, and Personal Courage.

Loyalty. Loyalty means remaining faithful and pledging allegiance to not only the U.S. constitution, but also the Army as a whole, along with soldiers both in and outside of your unit. Being loyal is devoting yourself to the greater cause, to give every ounce of faith. A loyal soldier will stop at nothing to risk all and defend his country, as well as his fellow soldiers. I can relate to the value of loyalty because I have remained loyal to my family, and my faith. Throughout my life, I have remained loyal to my family by always being there for them, protecting them, and being true to them. I have also been loyal to my faith by attending church on a regular basis, and trying my best to live by the example laid before me by the Bible and Jesus Christ.

From → Blog Post

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

